So what’s happening on Monday…..well here’s what.

That will be me, under all the draping stuff.
.
.
.
I don’t think mine are purple, but two of my discs are stuffed, kaputsky, totally flattened from the GREAT FALL OF YASI.
.
.
.
remember this?
.
.
.
ande this
.
The ceiling didn’t fair too well either!
.
.
.
.
I was waaaay up the top of the roof space before I fell 4 metres.
.
.
The bedroom today
(Insurance companies are not fast are they?)
.
.
Naturally, my two lowest discs are MUCH WORSE than the one in the picture of the purple discs that I swiped off the net, with no idea of how to reference it.
.
.
.
So I’m getting
.
.
A thing stuck in my back a bit like this,
but mine will be metal
titanium in fact. not an orange plastic thing like this one.
.
.
.
.
And I am getting two too!
.
.
.
.
Let me know if you want me to get the surgeon to take photos during the op, so I can post them on this blog.
I could ask him to get the really gory bits for you.
.
.
So now,
it’s good night from me.
I’ll try and do a post from the hosptial on Sunday night before the surgery.
It will be fun to compare hospital rooms with the last one.
Love
LOU
PS  Paula, I did it, 2 posts in one week, a record for me lately.
xxxx
14 thoughts on “So what’s happening on Monday…..well here’s what.

  1. I am not sure what would be more scary: imagining you under the surgeon’s hands or the view of your bedroom ceiling. This is the view you had for weeks and months when you had to spend lots if time in bed? Looks very worrying.

    You met the surgeon before, on your trips, right? I am sure you have a good feeling, otherwise you would not let him touch you or your bones. My mum falls for the anaesthetists. They were born with a calm gene. At least in Austria.
    Thank you for the 2nd posting in a row. Although it’s quite disturbing. I can’t stand anything that comes with a general anaesthetic.
    kisses! Paula (I know my kisses won’t gross you out, since you have dogs, hehe.)

  2. Hi Paula,
    I haven’t been in the bedroom since the cyclone (3rd February), it’s still uninhabitable, plus I couldn’t go up stairs for the first 3 months after the fall.
    So I am still sleeping in our big library downstairs.
    I won’t be able to walk upstairs again for 3 months after the operation, so my special broken back bed will stay in the library for the time being.
    Yes; I’ve met the surgeon, I’ve had 3 long appointments with him, each one about an hour. He’s lovely, and very, very skilled. I ahve watched the surgery I am having, on YouTube, 3 different surgeons performing it.
    Then my surgeon showed me a video of his surgery, (not on YouTube, but on his computer) and hoestly it was like comparing a sailmaker to an embroiderer. His work is wonderfully fast and neat. That takes all the worry out of surgery for me.
    Tell your Mum I hope she is doing well after her time in hospital a while back. Would she like me to take a photo of my anaesthetist for her? So she can see an Australian one?
    I’ve just finished cleaning the Dodgy Brothers’ teeth for them so their kisses are nice and fresh – tee hee.
    Thanks for your kisses too,
    love
    Lou
    xxx

  3. Dear Louise, I am glad you are a woman who does her research. I am glad that the surgeon is nice but I am even gladder he is super competent. Hopefully, when you are back on your feet (inadvertent pun) there will be some progress with the insurance company too. We are all glad that the dogs have clean teeth and fresh breath – these little things are important. love Lindaxxx

    • Hey Linda,
      Yes Linda, those Dodgy Brothers are really getting used to having their teeth cleaned. One day when you get here (fingers crossed, wishing upon a star, offering up requests to the universe) you will get to witness the miracle that is Arnie B opening his mouth wide for me and letting me scrub inside and outside, top and bottom teeth with his blue baby toothbrush and doggy toothpaste. I kid you not, this is what happens every night now.
      Siggi – on the other hand -continues to test my wits, strength and agility in getting the toothbrush round his little choppers without accidentally strangling him.

      Thank you for being so “glad” for me -tee hee and for your wonderful pun.
      Love

      Lou
      xxx

  4. Dear Louise, How funny – using so many glads! I wasn’t aware of it at the time. I read Pollyanna again after many years a few weeks back and clearly it has had an effect on me. love Lindaxxx

    • Oh, I thought the glads were on purpose – they read so beautifully.
      See, you write so well even when you aren’t thinking about it!

      Should I reread Pollyana again while in hospital? is it worth it?
      I remember the movie with Hayley Mills playing Pollyana I saw a besquillion years ago, can still see that wonderful shopping expedition with all the shopkeepers carrying a dazzling array of boxes out of the shop behind Aunt Polly.
      Do you know the movie??

  5. Oh Louise, you are so positive and so well informed. I wish you all the best for next week. I am ‘glad’ that your back is being fixed before the house but I can’t believe the insurance companies. How long ago was this cyclone??!!!! So sorry that your kitchen has to go too. Keep us informed.
    A-M xx

    • Hi A-M,

      Ta, looking forward to another lunch too.
      Cyclone was 3rd February would you believe.
      There are no builders available here in Townsville.
      Can’t believe people from down south don’t want to come up and work.

      Can I just say how well informed you are about The Block.
      You are doing a wonderful job of keeping us posted.
      I’m still amazed that they scored Katrina and Amy below the winners. The only thing they criticised in their finish was a bit of dust/paint on the bricks. What about the winners dodgy finish on the floor that wasn’t level – and Scott’s help getting it fixed. Hurrrummmppphhh – i say!

      love
      lou
      xxx

  6. Hi Lou, how long will you be recuperating on the coast after the operation and will you have family to help out?
    We won’t have proper internet access till late next week so not being able to keep up with blogs is driving me crackers! My daughter got antsy the other night and headed to the golden arches for their free wireless. I haven’t resorted to that yet but I just might!
    Best of luck for Monday and will be texting you.
    Love Annie xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    • Hi Annie,
      5 or 6 days in hospital I believe, at Southport, Allamanda. Surgery Monday afternoon.
      Go down to Coolangatta then for two weeks.
      The mister is “supposed” to be looking after me, but I’m starting to have some doubts about the wisdom of this based on recent lack of tidiness.
      Text away, I’ll be desperate for a chat and a catch up.
      If you can convince a driver to pop down to Southport with you I would LOVE, LOVE, LOVE a hospital visit, since most of my friends are up here in Townsville.
      How is that spectacular new house going?
      Lou
      xxxxxxx

  7. hi louise,

    your doc sounds amazing. so awesome that you can actually see videos of the same surgery. technology is amazing. wishing you the very best and a very fast recovery.
    good luck dear girl.

    xo
    janet

    • Hi Janet,
      Lovely to hear from you, I will try and post something funny from Hospital. Several people have emailed (rather than commented, ?they obviously don’t want to be identified as gore chasers?) me telling me they want gory photos on the blog – BUT – may scare some folks off.
      Have you made a decision on the hair colour? I’m waiting for you to decide and then I’ll follow suit. You are so stylish and always sooo immaculate I figure you are a good style mentor for me.
      Lou
      xxx

Leave a Reply

