Been this way before …………. the Gold Coast AGAIN.

I’m back on the Gold Coast again to see the Spinal Surgeon,

.

.

.

And I’m still taking sunset photos

Not because I’m moody,
but because they do a nice line in Sunsets down here at the moment
.
.
Even the pre-sunsets are pretty gorgeous.
.
.
.
.
Back home in Townsville (after sunset)
Who is playing (AFL) football for the Thuringowa Bulldogs?
.
.
Little James is in there somewhere.
Guess what number he is?
Here’s a clue
.
.
Meanwhile at home,
.
.
Domestic Life inTownsville and,
I’m channelling my inner Faux Fuchsia
.

I had to dig VERY DEEP to find anything remotely Faux Fuchsiaish.
Can you believe I have gotten out of cooking since 5th February (the Day of the FALL)?
.
You don’t need to tell me – Grandma Wacker would be horrified.
.
.
.
I use David Herbert’s
.
.
REALLY USEFUL COOKBOOK
Paddy told me about it,
she knows all about these things.
If you go here you’ll find out about all the stuff Paddy knows about.
.
.
Back to my Pot Roast Shoulder of Lamb
.
.
I used the slow cooker
but it was too bloody slow
.
.
so
.
.
I had to put the slow cooker casserole dish into the oven.
I shouldn’t have ….
.
.
Eventually I got the melted handle into a sort of a graspable shape
by remoulding it while it was still very hot.
.
.
I haven’t told Mr iT.
We already have 2 other slow cookers without lids
broken by moi of course.
Meanwhile
Back at the  Shoulder of lamb.
.
.
Mr iT and Little James
said it was delicious and they
ate it all up, while 6 (yes 6) dogs sat on the floor near the table and drooled.
It looked exactly like this,
gremolata and all.
It’s a bit sad though
when you cut it up to serve it
it falls apart and looks like
STEW.
.
.
.
And last time I came down here to see the Spinal Surgeon
Guess who made these for me when I got home?
That’s about it for me for domesticity.
So
Toodles all
Love
LOU
xxxxxx
12 thoughts on “Been this way before …………. the Gold Coast AGAIN.

  1. Louise, could it be you were not born to become a slow cooker? I am very good at melting stuff in the kitchen, too! For example in my mothers kitchen where plastic cutting boards are stored next to the cooktop. The results are always close to art. Is there a date scheduled when you are going to have a surgery? :-/

    • Hi Paula,
      I also do a very fine line in burning saucepans and melting those plastic chopping boards by putting really hot, burnt saucepans on them.
      I aslo ignite tea towels on the gas flames regularly.

      I see the surgeon on Friday, will have a date then – stay tuned.
      love
      Louise
      xxx

  2. Oh how I laughed at your slower cooker lid!… and it’s not your first!…. hilarious. Can’t wait to meet you Miss L. A-M xx

    • Hi A-M,
      Yes, I noticed the unmelted slow cooker lid is visible in the picture of the slow cooker with the Pot Roast in it. I could have done a before and after.
      In my defence, I dropped the other two slow cooker lids. So at least I’ve changed techniques in murdering slow cookers.
      See you Wednesday,
      Louise
      xxx

  3. Hi Lou
    I have lost count of the number of plastic spatula/egg flip thingys I’ve melted by propping against a pot on the gas. So you are not the only one into melted plastic!
    Maybe this is why Mr A insists on a fire blanket in the kitchen.
    Little James is no 52 and Elizabeth baked the welcome home treats, yes?
    xx

    • HI Annie,
      Yes Little James is number 52 and hasn’t lost a game yet.
      Elisabeth bakes cakes for me and mothers me.
      And ditto to the spatulas, flips even wooden spoons go up in flames at my place.
      I think I don;t think when I am cooking.
      Lou
      xxxx

  4. Hi there Louise, Grandma Whacker here. I am sitting having a spot of lunch with old Blighty and we are looking at your blog ( in fact I had already looked at it and was updating old Blighty who quite frankly is very slow on the uptake these days..) Am putting the family right on gardening, cooking, childcare but they take no notice of me – the outrage! Next I shall be putting Mr Cameron and the country straight. Your lamb dish looks absolutely delicious, a melted lid is neither here nor there, back in the day I myself had a small incident with a pressure cooker – Blighty still shouts “Take cover” in her sleep sometimes and the kitchen ceiling has never been the same. Glad you are seeing the surgeon on Friday, Lots of love and Gruss Gott to Elisabeth, Grandma Whacker xxxxxxx

    • I am THRILLED beyond words.
      This is such a RED LETTER day!
      I feel as if I scored an invite to the royal wedding.

      Thank you GRANDMA WHACKER for visiting my humble blog and leaving a COMMENT!!!!!
      Blighty told me that Grandma W – like the Queen – NEVER comments on blogs. Gosh, I feel so excited.

      Grandma, I cannot believe that you are over there at Blighty’s house and you are having to organise the household. Surely Mr B and Boyz 1&2 should be making you cups of tea, serving you scones, choosing wonderful foreign films to watch at home with you, giving you a foot massage, practising Wii Yoga with you, you know, all the wonderful things that you do for your beloved M in Law and Grandma?

      If they are not, then you need to scoodle over here to Townsville and I will do all of the above for/with you. I think you are wonderful Grandma W. I would ALWAYS take note of everything you suggest I do.

      Now, on a serious note, I can stop wondering how Blighty got to be so funny. Obviously YOU are the REALLY funny one, and she’s just copying you.

      Thanks for the heads up on how to cook with the Pressure Cooker, I must remember to train the Dodgy Brothers and Bronny and Bee what “Take Cover” means, as they are the ones most likely to be hanging around the kitchen while I torture the meat.

      I am going to leave your message for Elisabeth to read on the blog. She too knows that Grandma W never leaves comments, so it will be a marvellous surprise for her to get you message.

      Gruss Gott to you too Grandma W,
      LOTS and LOTS of love
      Lou
      xxxxxxx

  5. Dear Louise, I think you are too dynamic for slow cooking. Have you ever tried pressure cooking – you get the results of slow cooking in 3/4 of an hour with no chance of melting lids. Your moody shots are lovely. I never thought the Gold Coast had non-built up bits. Your Elisabeth is a treasure – it is always lovely to be welcomed home. I am crossing my fingers that things go well with the surgeon. Lindaxxx

  6. Hi LInda,
    Thank you for the word DYNAMIC, it’s so much nicer than IMPATIENT.
    From now on I am going to think of myself as dynamic.
    Thanks also for the pressure cooker idea, I do have one,but I don’t know how to use it.
    I think the prospect of all that explosive steam and my DYNAMIC attitude to cooking frightens me a little. How do you get the lid OFF to check the contents, then get it back ON with all the steam intact. Hmmm one of life’s mysteries for me.

    The surgeon should be fine, I have practised looking suitably pained but patient, and “I have my amazing feat of stopping all painkillers without being advised to” story ready – to convince him to start chopping and slicing and replacing ASAP. I am thinking of asking him if he would like to do it on Saturday. Tee hee.

    I hope you are ash free over there Linda.
    Lots of love
    Louise
    xxxxx

  7. Hi Louise

    Finally got time to visit your blog after your kind comment on mine. Slow cooker catastrophes do happen. At least the lid died for a good cause… I am quite scared of pressure cookers. I would definitely blow one up. The lamb looked fantastic.

    Take care.

  8. Hello, I love your blog! The lid’s not totally dead Farmer’s Wife (unlike the other two slow cooker lids, which are totally deceased), I sort of resurrected it a bit and I could still use it again. I don’t know if I will be using it again any time soon, but I could, but I probably won’t.
    Yes the lamb was scrumptious, that David Herbert is a clever cookbook writer. I always read him in the weekend Australian too.
    Lou
    xx

Leave a Reply

