Blighty and inTownsville do London

Here’s Blighty

She was so nice,

She picked me up in her own double decker bus.

(and I found out that she’s been keeping her huge family a secret from us).

After all the kids were dropped off at school,

Blighty had a quick wardrobe change.

She was afraid I had snakes in my handbag.

Eventually I convinced her that I was in fact, snake free for the day,

so she took off her hunting gear and Britished it up.

Georgie was channelling Mai Tai in Hermes

Then, Mrs B and inTownsville hotfooted it to Liberty,

the wonder shop that the Glamourous Faux Fuchsia and lots of her fellow bloggers have blogged about.

Unbelievably,

Mrs B and iT

didn’t get to see much in  Liberty.

At 10am we had a quick coffee in Liberty’s teashop,

when all of a sudden, the 1pm lunch crowd aggressively eyed off our table.

How do three hours just disappear like that?

We found Georgie

who had wandered off and found an Hermes Scarf made specially for Liberty

But even though it was genuine Hermes,

and was reduced from 65 pounds

to 16 pounds

Georgie had to accept that

ORANGE is not her colour.

Mrs B and iT took a tube ride to South Kensington for lunch and a bit of shopping.

Lunch (which was just a sandwich each) took another two hours,

a pattern was beginning to emerge.

Perhaps Mr B and Mr iT were both correct in avoiding the occasion with their dire predictions of gabfests and two women politely trying to interrupt each other’s endless stream of conversation?

B and iT thought they’d better do something productive for the day,

so on to the shopping.

We thought a bit of vintage shopping in London would be just the thing.

Blighty fell in love with this silver, sequinned singlet/babygrow concoction.

Just as Mrs B reached out to try this on, I noticed the previous owner was M. Jagger.

Eeeeeuuuuooooooo

Icky Boy Germs,

so then Blighty thought she’d try the Military Look.

this was my favourite

Although Blighty wavered and wondered if Mr B would prefer this

a couple of  Clementines (mandarins to us Aussies)  in the bodice

would be just the thing.

MRs B convinced inTownsville to buy this

Just the thing for Townsville.

Suddenly it was 5pm,

a scary time to be catching the London Underground.

Down into the bowels of the earth we ventured,

us, and 374,000,000 other Londoners.

Catching a tube is serious business in rush hour,

but luckily Mrs B and iT managed to snag 3 little cubs (boy and girl scouts)

a magnificent trio of 8 year olds who wrangled us through the scary peak hour commute.

The highlights for me?

Blighty is the nicest sweetest person you’ll ever meet.

She’s tiny, never believe any of her posts about “sucking in” and all that rubbish.

Blighty is really pretty and has gorgeous straight hair, I’m so envious.

Pre Boys 1 and 2,

Blighty was an INTERNATIONAL CORPORATE LAWYER, and she’s really SMART.

Blighty speaks MANY languages.  I heard her speak, French, Geordie, 9 yr old boy, Grandma Whacker, The Delightful B (Mr B’s cousin), 3 year old London toddler, Turkish London neighbour, Outer London bedroom suburb supermarket check-out operator, Russian Bank Teller – all with ease and skill.

All the best everyone?

Love

L

xxx

21 thoughts on “Blighty and inTownsville do London

  1. Can’t wait to see the yellow number being sported around in TSV (probably moreso the reaction that it might excite, actually). Townsville will look so ordinary compared to these places. Though think of all the great ideas for fashion and re-decoration that you will bring back with you. I hope Georgie doesn’t think she is too sophisticated to be seen with George now. I warned George of this and he has since been working on pronunciation so he has something to ‘show-off’ when she returns. Safe Travels xx

    Little J

    • Little J,
      The adventurers return soon, the Shingles has shortened the trip – Thank You Travel Gods!
      I’m am very excited about the real GEORGE B having developed his language sills to the understandable degree. Dubious, but excited.
      Good idea about bringing home the decor and fashion ideas, they’ll work a treat in Townsville. do you fancy the Yellow Coat as your new Pharmacist Jacket?
      Love
      L
      xxxx

      • I was thinking the yellow jacket would be perfect for a Pharmacist. There is just something so comforting about a canary yellow jacket, patients will definitely warm to it. What is the new ETA? George B will have to step up with the amount of practice he is doing to ensure he is ready in time. Say hello to the Travel Gods for me and tell them I’m still waiting on my trip to Europe. Love From Little J in Sunny Hot Townsville xx

  2. You had me at the double decker bus Louise. Read this post twice incase I missed a tidbit from laughing heartily during first read through.
    So happy you and Blighty enjoyed the day in London, even the congestion of a tube ride during peak hour.
    Very glad Blights reconsidered the silver all-in-one. Imagine the hollywood tape needed to secure the side bits to ones chest. Did you REALLY purchase the yellow coat for Townsville?
    xx

    • Hi Annie,
      We played dress ups at the Victoria and Albert Museum, and were not allowed to take any of the clothes home with us. What a disappointment!
      The bus was such a scream – I’ll save the story for the great HANDING OVER Coffee Date of the big strong Viking.
      I’ll see if I can refrain from telling Paddy till then, so you and she can hear its first telling.
      Mr iT and I did the British Museum today, it was EXTREMELY sedate compared to yesterday’s efforts!
      See you soon,
      L
      xx

      • Can’t wait to meet you and Paddy (are you hitting Bris in Feb?).
        You know Paddy’s blog is the first I ever followed so your sis is special for this less than savvy cyber commenter.
        Sorry to hear Mr iT is still unwell.
        xx

      • Hey again Annie,
        Yes , I know Paddy introduced you to the world of blogging. Well I sort of knew. I did know that she recommended that you check out FF.
        It was the same for me. I didn’t know a thing about the blogosphere till Paddy got me on to Anna Spiro, then FF.
        We’ll have to give her some sort of “connecting us all up” award.
        Yes to February.
        L
        xxx

  3. Hey There Louise, just dropped by here having done my ” What I Did on my Day Out” essay; your post is brilliant, I love the expression “Gabfest” but can’t imagine why you think it relevant to us! thank you for your kind comments about me; so funny, I swear I did not peek at your post first but I have been saying how I love your curly hair, typical female “I want what I don’t have syndrome” – curly hair, boobs, George Clooney, a clean car etc! Hope you weren’t too tired after our escapades, Mr B and the boys wanted to hear all about it in Great Detail! Hope all goes smoothly for your trip home Blightsxx p.s. Paddy – your comment, ha ha!

  4. Dear Ms Louise, Well what a day! I loved loved loved the photos – my favourite was of Mrs Blighty in her snak-searching outfit. I am most relieved that your managed to draw Mrs B away from the Mick Jagger outfit. I had the same mental response as you when I read his name. When are you due home? Linda xxx

  5. HI Linda,
    Yipppppeeeeeee, I’ll be home by the weekend (I don’t know exactly what day because that involves working out the time differences and travel time from London). Too hard for me at this stage of the trip.
    Wasn’t Blighty amazing with all those wardrobe changes, though I fear she’s blown my hilarious story for Anne-Marie and Paddy about the secret of all those amazing outfits, and her bus!
    One more day of work here in London, and I’m free!
    Will email you tonight.
    L
    xxxx

    • Hi Paula,
      Do you need me to send a message to your sis in law? Or I could get Georgie to drop her a line.
      She obviously has no idea of the doors that stuffed toys open (see the A380 post).
      Stuffed toys are also far more photogenic, don’t have bad hair days, and wardrobe continuity for posts is never an issue.

      Georgie has been around for the whole life of the blog – which is errrmmmmm about 5 weeks.
      The blog started life to let everyone at home follow our trip – it has suffered badly from lack of internet everywhere we’ve been, so I predict quite a long life for the blog’s initial raison d’etre.

      Cheers,
      L

  6. Welcome Home Louise! and happy belated birthday.
    I detest jetlag with a passion. These days I suffer even just travelling to Sydney or Melbourne, that daylight saving time difference is a killer.
    xx

    • Hi Annie,
      Tee Hee to the jetlag comment, I totally agree about the jetlag between Brissie and Sydney. And of course, it’s even worse from Townsville to Sydney. But London to Townsville is a killer with the time change.
      I always find that flying WEST is horrendous while the eastbound time change seems to be a breeze.
      Your Viking isn’t here yet, I seem to have beaten him home, so apologies but your award ceremony will have to wait till he gets here. It’s funny how out of synch the post is from different European countries.
      cheers,
      Louise

Leave a Reply

